Halal is one of the most common questions about pies in Singapore, and one of the worst answered. Many lists lump together sellers that are certified, sellers that use halal ingredients, and sellers that simply avoid pork. For a Muslim diner those are not the same, so this guide keeps them apart and reports each seller’s status only as the seller itself, or MUIS, states it.
How to read this guide
- Halal-certified: the seller states that it holds halal certification. In Singapore, certification is issued by MUIS, the Islamic Religious Council of Singapore.
- Not certified, no pork or lard: the seller says its products contain no pork or lard, but it is not certified. Reasons vary; some serve alcohol or admit pets on the premises.
- Not halal: the seller says so, or the menu includes pork or the venue is a pub.
- Not stated: we could not find any statement either way. Ask the seller.
We checked sellers’ own statements for this October 2026 edition. Certification is renewed and can lapse, and it applies to specific premises, so confirm the outlet you plan to visit on the MUIS website. Two of the certified sellers below, Polar and The Shepherd’s Pie, also make our ranking of the best pies in Singapore.
Halal-certified pie sellers
The most widely available halal-certified chicken pie, $3.20, from mall kiosks across the island. Party boxes for gatherings, with about five days' notice.
- Where
- Central, East and more
- Price
- From $3.20
- Halal
- Halal-certified
- Delivery
- Delivers
A halal-certified bakery chain with a $3.20 chicken pie and its own delivery service (minimum $25, free above $170).
- Where
- Online or multiple outlets
- Price
- From $3.20
- Halal
- Halal-certified
- Delivery
- Delivers
Délifrance's own website states that its food is halal-certified. Curry chicken, chicken mushroom and other savoury pies from about $8.50, $6 on Tuesdays until 29 December 2026, plus corporate catering.
- Where
- Online or multiple outlets
- Price
- From $8.50
- Halal
- Halal-certified
- Delivery
- Delivers
The halal choice for shepherd's pie: chicken, beef black pepper, beef rendang, lamb and plant-based trays from $39.90, fresh or frozen, with free delivery above $150.
- Where
- East
- Price
- From $39.90 whole
- Halal
- Halal-certified
- Delivery
- Delivers
| Halal pies | |||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Polar | Chicken pie, party boxes | Central, East and more | From $3.20 | Halal-certified | Delivers |
| Kopi & Tarts | Chicken pie | Online or multiple outlets | From $3.20 | Halal-certified | Delivers |
| Délifrance | Curry chicken, chicken mushroom pies | Online or multiple outlets | From $8.50 | Halal-certified | Delivers |
| The Shepherd's Pie | Shepherd's pie trays | East | From $39.90 whole | Halal-certified | Delivers |
Sellers that are not certified but avoid pork and lard
- Chicken Pie Kitchen & Don Signature Crab (the Don pies, baked under the DonChef name): no pork, no lard, not halal-certified. The seller explains that its flagship restaurant serves alcohol and admits pet dogs, so it does not qualify, and it states plainly that it does not claim any product is halal. See the Chicken Pie Kitchen profile, or the longer explainer on donpies.com, Is Don Pie halal?, which quotes the seller’s wording.
- Windowsill Pies: not halal-certified; its FAQ says no pork, lard or alcohol are used and its gelatin is halal-certified.
- The Gourmet Pie Company: has described itself as “halal-friendly”. We found no certificate.
Sellers that are not halal
Han’s (its sister brand Hanis is reported to be certified), Violet Oon, Quentin’s (the Curry Debal Pie contains smoked pork belly), PS.Cafe, Pig N Whistle and Burnt Ends Bakery. Simply Good Pies does not state a status, and its range includes a pork pie.
Other halal options to check
- Hanis, the halal sister brand of Han’s, is reported to be certified. We have not profiled it.
- The Royals Cafe in Siglap has been reported as MUIS-certified and has sold mini chicken pies. We could not verify current details.
- Tip Top Curry Puff is halal-certified (renewed yearly) if a curry puff will do instead of a pie.
How to check halal certification yourself
- Look for the MUIS halal certificate displayed at the outlet. It names the premises and an expiry date.
- Search the outlet on the MUIS website before ordering online or for an event.
- For delivery, check whether the certificate covers the kitchen that makes your order, not just a retail kiosk.
- Treat “Muslim-owned”, “no pork no lard” and “halal-friendly” as useful information, not as certification.
Halal pies for events
For Hari Raya open houses, office events and family gatherings, the practical halal picks are Polar’s party boxes, Délifrance’s catering menu and The Shepherd’s Pie trays. Our party and festive pies guide covers quantities and lead times.
Questions people ask
Is chicken pie halal in Singapore?
It depends on the seller. Polar Puffs & Cakes, Kopi & Tarts and Délifrance state that they are halal-certified and sell chicken pies. Many other chicken pies are not certified, even when they contain no pork. Check the outlet in the MUIS directory.
Is Don Pie halal?
No. The Don pies, baked under the DonChef name at Chicken Pie Kitchen & Don Signature Crab, contain no pork and no lard, but the business is not halal-certified. The seller says its flagship serves alcohol and admits pets, and it does not claim any product is halal.
Is Windowsill Pies halal?
Windowsill Pies is not halal-certified. Its FAQ says it uses no pork, lard or alcohol and that its gelatin is halal-certified. That is ingredient information, not certification.
Where can I buy halal shepherd's pie in Singapore?
The Shepherd's Pie states that it is halal-certified and sells chicken, beef black pepper, beef rendang, lamb and plant-based shepherd's pies in trays for four to six, from $39.90 as of October 2026.
What does halal-friendly mean?
Halal-friendly is a marketing phrase with no certification behind it. It usually means a seller avoids pork and alcohol, but there is no independent check of suppliers, kitchen practice or storage. For certainty, look for MUIS certification.
Is Han's halal?
Han's Cafe & Cake House is not halal-certified. Its sister brand, Hanis, is reported to be halal-certified. Check the shopfront name and the MUIS directory.



